Chili-Lime Flank Steak

I’m not even sure if the title for this is even correct, so if anyone makes this and has a new suggestion, please let me know! This steak was downright amazing. I wasn’t so sure it was going to be this good, but it ended up exceeding expectations! I guess you could say I followed a recipe for this except the initial recipe was for chicken wings, not steak. Then, I actually didn’t have the exact ingredients the initial recipe called for…. so I had to improvise with those as well. So, I got the idea from this other recipe but it’s actually completely different. Make sense? I sure hope so!

This steak reminds me of something from Mongolian BBQ or one of those build your own stir-fry places. It turned out very flavorful, tender, juicy.

Serve with your favorite stir fry veggies and rice.

Marinade:

1/2 C beef bouillon powder

1/2 C birched honey

1/2 C vegetable oil

1/2 C white onion

1/2 C malt vinegar

1/8 C srirachi chili sauce

zest of 2 limes

juice from 1 lime

Combine all ingredients into a food processor and pulse until onion is pureed. Pour into a ziplock back and marinate a flank steak for 4-6 hours(in the fridge), squishing marinade around meat every hour or so to make sure all meat is evenly covered. Take meat out of fridge about 20-30 minutes before you grill it. Grill as you would regularly; about 5-8 minutes on each side over high heat, closing the grill lid while cooking. Cook to desired doneness.

In my opinion, this steak is best when cooked to medium rare-medium.

Let the steak rest for about 10 minutes before slicing. Slice against the grain into thin slices (a serrated knife works best).

 

This picture doesn’t do this meat justice… it’s delish!

Leave a comment